This Help Article will help walk you through the basics of creating a new project and making changes to an existing project. Check out the outlined steps below to get started!
Quick Summary of Step-by-Step Guide:
- Add a new project
- Enter basic project information
- Enter advanced project information
- Copy an existing project budget
- Estimate win potential and budget
- Activate or deactivate a project
- Make changes to an existing project
- Delete a project
In-Depth Step-by-Step Guide:
- Add a new project: To add a new project, simply navigate to 'Clients & Projects' > 'Projects & Proposals' and click the green 'New Project' button on the top right side of your screen.
- Enter basic project information: After clicking the 'New Project' button you will see a dialog that will allow you to enter your project information. The 'Basic' view allows you to quickly enter only the basic information needed to create a new project. After entering, you have the option to save this project as an 'Opportunity' and return to the project list or to save the project and begin creating the budget immediately.
If you choose 'Save Opportunity' the project will remain in the 'Opportunity' stage on your project list until you create a budget for the project. Once you start creating a budget for a project, the project will advance to the 'Proposal' stage. Learn more about creating a budget in the help article: Creating Project Budgets.
- Enter advanced project information: On the create project dialog, you have the option to enter more detailed client and billing information for your project by clicking the 'Advanced' tab at the top of the screen. This will allow you to adjust more options for features like how time is entered or billed. You can learn more about tracking time in the Tracking Your Time help article or billing a cost + fixed fee project in the Cost + Fixed Fee Projects help article.
- Copy an existing project budget: When creating a project, you have the option to copy a budget from an existing project by selecting the project in the bottom left of your screen. This will create a budget on your new project that will have a copy of all tasks, expenses, and staff from your selected project.
You can also copy a project from the project list page by clicking on an existing project and selecting 'Clone'. This will copy the budget and put your new project at the top of the projects list.
- Estimate win potential and budget: Entering your chance of winning the project and what you estimate the budget could be will help determine the amount of estimated labor budget that shows up in your 'Opportunity' stage. You can enter this on the project dialog.
You can also quickly make changes to these two estimated values from the project list page before you start creating a budget for a project by clicking on the stage widget as illustrated below.
- Activate or deactivate a project: You can activate and deactivate projects from the project list page. By default, only the active projects are visible, but you can always use the advanced filters to view both active and inactive projects. Learn more about how to search and filter projects on the help article: Viewing Projects.
- Make changes to an existing project: You can make changes to an existing project by clicking 'Edit' on the dropdown menu for the project from the project list page.
You can change any of the basic or advanced settings for a project at any time from the project dialog.
NOTE: After invoices have been finalized for a project, if you make changes, it will affect future invoices on the project. For example, if you were to change the project number or the project billing structure, these will be reflected on future invoices and will differ from past invoices. Also, if you were to rescind past invoices, they would now reflect these changes that you have made when and if you re-finalize them.
- Delete a project: You can delete a project from the project list by clicking the project menu and selecting the delete option.
NOTE: You cannot delete projects that have been contracted and you cannot delete projects that already have time or expense logged on them. You can simply deactivate these projects if you don't want them to show up on your active list.
Now, you are probably thinking, "Whoa! I still have questions about projects..." Well don't you worry, this Help Article is just to help get you started.
- Now that you've learned how to add a project in SQUAVA, there are still a few things you will need to learn for managing your projects.
- For more detailed information, check out the other Help Articles in the Projects 101 section.